Microbiology and Immunology Department

The Department of Microbiology and Immunology is responsible of covering basic and apply aspects of medical microbiology and immunology to medical and graduate students.  In addition, a specialized clinical laboratory serves the medically affected subjects and research community. The sub-disciplines of bacteriology, mycology, parasitology, virology, immunology and microbial physiology, are considered.  Research and clinical laboratory activities are specifically focus on conditions related to HIV/AIDS, cancer, hepatitis, human papilloma virus infections and substances of abuse as they impact the immune and neural system network.

 

Research Interest (areas and contact person)

  • HIV, HCV, HBV—-Drs. Eddy Rios, José W. Rodríguez and, Nawal Boukli.
  • Human Papilloma Virus —-Dr. Eddy Ríos
  • Substances of Abuse —–Drs. José W. Rodriguez, Nawal Boukli, Eddy Ríos
  • Vaccine Development —-Drs. Miguel Otero, Jose W. Rodríguez, Nawal Boukli and Eddy Ríos.
  • Proteomics —-Dr. Nawal Boukli and staff.
  • Cancer—- Drs. José W. Rodríguez, Nawal Boukli, Eddy Ríos

 

Faculty & Staff

Dr. Eddy Ríos-Olivares 

Department Director & Professor  &
eddy.rios@uccaribe.edu

Dr. Nawal Boukli 

Associate Professor
nawal.boukli@uccaribe.edu

 

Dr. José W. Rodríguez 

Associate Professor
jose.rodriguez@uccaribe.edu

 

Prof. Zilka Ríos 

Associate Professor
zilka.rios@uccaribe.edu

Dr. José L. Molinaris 

Clinical Director
jose.molinaris@uccaribe.edu

Rosa Cantres, MTASCP 

Clinical Laboratory Supervisor
rosa.cantres@uccaribe.edu

 

Lcda. Carola López 

Laboratory Technologist
carola.lopez@uccaribe.edu

 

Lcda. Maridaliz Rodrígiez 

Laboratory Manager
maridaliz.rodriguez@uccaribe.edu

Angelis Hernández 

Laboratory Assistant

 

Cecilia de León 

Laboratory Technologist

Zahiraliz Reyes 

Research Assistant
zahiraliz.reyes@uccaribe.edu

 

Myrna Vázquez

Research Assistant
myrna.reyes@uccaribe.edu
Erick Miranda 

Research Assistant
erick.miranda@uccaribe.edu

 

 

Microbiology and Immunology Department Staff

Yolanda Nieves
Adminstrative Assistant I
yolanda.nieves@uccaribe.edu 

 

Cristal Pollock
Administrative Assistant I
cristal.pollock@uccaribe.edu

 

Contact Us

Microbiology and Immunology Department

Universidad Central del Caribe
PO Box 60327
Bayamón, Puerto Rico 00960-6032
Phone (787) 798-3001   x-2079
e-mail: cristal pollock@uccaribe.edu