Chemical Safety

The Chemical Safety Committee ensures that chemicals used at UCC are used and disposed of in such a manner as to minimize the health and safety risks to personnel, facilities, the environment, and the public and to assure compliance with UCC policies and federal as well as PR regulations.

Contact Information:
Dr. Janaina Alves, Dept. of Microbiology and Immunology
Dr. Krishna Baksi, Dept. of Anatomy & Cell Biology
Mrs. Brenda Cuadrado, Dept. of Neuroscience
Dr. Yuriy Kucheryavykh, Dept. of Biochemistry
Dr. Mikhail Inyushin, Dept. of Physiology
Lcda. Emilia Soto, Administration

Forms and Regulations

*Chemical Safety Protocol Form

UCC Chemical Safety Manual

*Instructions for completing the Protocol Evaluation Form

Only complete this form for:

    Chemicals listed by the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) or the National Toxicology Program (NTP) as suspect or confirmed carcinogens, 

    Toxicological/epidemiological studies have indicated that the chemical has reproduction hazards

    Chemicals listed as Toxic or Highly Toxic. (See for OSHA guidance on identifying Highly Toxic Chemicals).

    Known significant skin or eye irritants.

    Flammable, air reactive, or water reactive chemicals.

    Corrosive chemicals in concentrations of one (1) molar or greater.

    Acute, and or reactive hazard(s),

   Exhibit physically dangerous characteristics such as explosive, pyrophoric, or poisonous.

1.  Complete all parts of this form.

2.  All investigators require CSC approval before starting procedures.  Remember that all research projects utilizing human subjects, chemicals, experimental animals or radioactive materials MUST obtain the approval of the IRB, IBC, IACUC or Radiation Safety Committee, respectively.

3.  Incomplete Protocol Evaluation Forms that do not have all the required documentations will not be evaluated until they are completed.

4.  Do not forget that you must submit a list of chemicals used, hazardous and otherwise, and declare their categories. Some commonly overlooked hazardous materials used in many molecular biology labs are: acrylamide monomer, ethidium bromide and formaldehyde. Please examine your methods thoroughly and report all hazardous chemicals used in the protocol.

5.  Examine your protocol carefully for radioisotope use. RIA and PCR frequently involve isotope use and should be reported.

6.  Make sure to sign the “Acknowledgement of Responsibility and Knowledge