Radiation Safety

The Radiation Safety Committee and the Radiation Safety Officer oversee all activity related to the use, receipt, storage and disposal of radioisotopes for research purposes at the institution and assure compliance with institutional, commonwealth and federal guidelines on radioisotope material used at the institution for research under U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Materials License #52-23059-01. The RSC also oversees a calibration service for radiation-monitoring instruments that is available to the public for a small charge. The current RSC Chairperson is Dr. Richard Hann, Dept. of Biochemistry (787-798-3001 x2031; Fax 787-786-6285) and the current RSO is Mr. David Rhoe (787-245-7248). Researchers interested in using radioisotopes at the institution need prior approval from the RSC and should contact the RSC Chairperson. Anyone interested in using the instrument calibration service should contact the RSO.

UCC Radiation Safety Committee

Chair: Dr. Richard Hann, Dept. of Biochemistry
RSO: David Rhoe
Dr. Krishna Baksi, Associate Professor
Dept. of Anatomy & Cell Biology
Dr. Pedro Ferchmin, Professor
Dept. of Biochemistry
Ms. Iris Font, Director
Finance Office (Administration Representative)
Dr. Nawal Boukli, Professor
Dept. of Microbiology and Immunology
Dr. Richard Hann, Professor and Chairman
Dept. of Biochemistry (Committee Chairman)
Dr. Priscila Sanabria, Professor and Chairman
Dept. of Physiology
Dr. Hector Maldonado, Professor and Chairman
Dept. of Pharmacology
Mr. David M. Rhoe
UCC Radiation Safety Officer
Ms. Madeline Lebron, (Ex oficio)
Radiation Safety Technician

Forms and Regulations

UCC Radiation Safety Manual 2013

Protocol Identification Universal Number Form